Nearly 46 percent voter turnout in EVM exclusive seats

This was the first time votes were taken via Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), with the machines used in six seats of the 300. However, the results from EVMs could not be declared swiftly as stated earlier.
The first declared seat was that of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in Gopalganj-3. Here, the returning officer declared final result at 7:27pm.
The first EVM result was declared at 9pm for Rangpur-3.
The average votes for EVMs were 45.82 percent. Of a total of 2,124,554 votes, a total of 973,455 votes were cast.
Election Commission secretary justified the delay in the result due to the usage of EVMs in remote areas.
Relevant to note, EVMs were used in big cities with five under city corporations and only one is in Satkhira. The winning results from EVMs are: HM Ershad (Jatiya Party) for Rangpur-3, with 142,926 votes, Kazi Firoz Rashid (Jatiya Party) for Dhaka-6, with 93,552 votes, Mohibul Hassan Chowdhury (AL) for Chattogram-9 with 223,614 votes, Mir Mostak Ahmed Robi (Awami League) for Satkhira-3 with 155,611 votes, Sheikh Salahuddin of Khulna-2 (AL) with 112,100 votes and Md Sadek Khan (AL) for Dhaka-13 with 13,163 votes.

Share this