Hasina scores hat trick as PM

Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is all set to score a hat trick for holding the prime minister’s office for three consecutive terms.
The unofficial polls outcome from the Election Commission shows that the Awami League-led Grand Alliance has won a landslide victory in the 11th National Elections with a whopping 288 seats out of 298.
According to party sources, Hasina will take the prime minister’s office, third time in a row and has also set the record for being Bangladesh’s prime minister for four terms.
Meanwhile, former military dictator HM Ershad led Jatiya Party came in second with 20 seats and will take on the role of opposition party in the parliament.
On the other hand, BNP, AL’s longtime opponent in the political field has bagged five constituencies.
The elections for Brahmanbaria-2 will be rescheduled with voting suspended in three of its polling centres. The Gaibandha-3 polls have also been rescheduled given the demise of one of the candidates.

Share this