Awami League wins landslide victory

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s party Awami League has won a landslide victory in the 11th National Election held on Sunday (Dec 30).

The ruling party knocked out its opponents at 259 constituencies followed by its key ally Jatiya Party at 20 seats, according to the unofficial results announced by Election Commission Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed at the EC’s city office early Monday (Dec 31).

The BNP, the largest ally in the opposition coalition Jatiya Oikya Front, however, won five seats.

Followings the result of the 11th Parliamentary Election;

Election to Brahmanbaria-2 seat remains postponed after the EC suspended voting of three polling centres there while polls to Gaibandha-3 has been rescheduled to Jan 27 due to the death of a Jatiya Okiya Front candidate.

Share this