President takes salute at Victory Day Parade

President M Abdul Hamid on Saturday inspected a parade at the National Parade Ground and took salute, marking the 47th Victory Day.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina attended the parade arranged by the 9th Infantry Division of Bangladesh Army under the supervision of Armed Forces Division.

A total of 26 Liberation War heroes from Indian Armed Forces, who took part in the Liberation War of 1971, led by Lt Gen (retd) Joy Bhagoman Sing Jadav, and a delegation from the Russian Armed Forces also attended the event.

Abdul Hamid accompanied by Maj Gen Md Akbar Hossain, the parade commander and also General Officer Commanding (GOC) of 9th Infantry Division, riding on an open jeep inspected the Victory Day Parade and took the salute.

Thousands of people from all walks of life witnessed the spectacular parade that lasted for about two hours.

The fly-past of Army and Navy aviation aircraft and Rab helicopters as well as the aerobatic display by Air Force and parachute landing by Army paratroopers enthralled the spectators.

Bangladesh Army, Bangladesh Navy, Bangladesh Air Force, Bangladesh Police, Coast Guard, Ansar, Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) and Bangladesh National Cadet Corps participated in the parade.

Different ministries also showcased their activities there.

The programme ended with a spectacular fly-past by Air Force’s MIG-29, led by Air Commodore Muhammad Mahfidur Rahman, and greetings from the band players.

President Abdul Hamid accompanied by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina also exchanged greetings with the contingents’ commanders who took part in the parade.

The parade ground was decorated with the images of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, President Abdul Hamid, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, four national leaders and seven Birshreshthas.

On his arrival at the parade venue at 10:32am, Abdul Hamid was received by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Huq, MPs and chiefs of the three services, reports UNB.

Earlier, on her arrival at the national parade ground around 10:28am, the Prime Minister was received by the Liberation War Affairs Minister, several MPs and chiefs of the three services.

Jatiya Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, cabinet members, foreign diplomats, freedom fighters, senior civil and military officers were present, reports UNB.

Share this