Rangpur Riders win by 6 wickets

The mighty Rangpur Riders win by six wickets against Rajshahi Kings in the 2nd match of the 5th edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Saturday.


Earlier, Rangpur Riders won the toss and elected to bowl first.


Darren Sammy’s little cameo of 27 runs from 18 balls helped Rajshahi to post a fighting total of 154 runs.


The openers of the Rajshahi Kings couldn’t deliver but Rony Talukdar played a decent knock of 47 runs from 38 balls which also ended up as the highest individual score in first innings.


Lasith Malinga and Nazmul Islam both picked up 2 wickets each for Rangpur but the skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza was the pick of the man for his outstanding 4 overs. He took 1 wicket and conceded just 18 runs including 1 maiden.


In reply, Rajshahi failed to start well but it changed right after Mohammad Mithun came to the crease.

His knock of 43 runs including 3 big sixes helped Rajshahi crawl back in the game.


After his dismissal, Ravi Bopara took the job in his hand and he didn’t fail to succeed. His unbeaten 39 off just 23 balls guided Rajshahi to victory in the end with 6 wickets in hand.


Brief score:


RK 154/8 (20 ov) | Rony 47 (38), Nazmul 2/20, Malinga 2/34

RR 155/4 (18.5 ov) |Mithun 46 (33), Bopara 39* (23) | Franklin 1/26


Rangpur Riders 1 Shahriar Nafees 2 Adam Lyth 3 Johnson Charles 4 Ravi Bopara 5 Thisara Perera 6 Mithun Ali 7 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt) 8 Rubel Hossain 9 Sohag Gazi 10 Nazmul Islam 11 Lasith Malinga


Rajshahi Kings 1 Luke Wright 2 Mominul Haque 3 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk) 4 Rony Talukdar 5 Samit Patel 6 Darren Sammy (capt) 7 James Franklin 8 Farhad Reza 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz 10 Nihad uz Zaman 11 Kesrick Williams

Share this