10 organisations win Joy Bangla Youth Award

Ten youth organisations on Saturday won the Joy Bangla Youth Award 2017 for their outstanding contributions to promote youth employability, education, sports and cultural activities and ending violence against women.

Prime Minister’s ICT Advisor Sajeeb Wazed Joy handed over certificates and crests to 10 winners at a two-day closing ceremony marking the second edition of the Joy Bangla Youth Award at the Sheikh Hasina National Youth Complex at Savar.

The 10 organisations were selected from a short list of 30-nominated organisations under three categories-community development, culture and sports.

State Minister for the Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid, State Minister for ICT Division Zunaid Ahmed Palak and Young Bangla Convener Nahim Razzak attended the function.

This year, Young Bangla, a youth platform of Centre for Research and Information (CRI), nominated 50 top youth organisations for the second edition of the Joy Bangla Youth Award.

CRI announced the nominees after short-listing them from 1,300 aspirants in over 82 sessions in four months.

The ten awardees are Swapna Dekho Social Welfare Organisation, Jessore; Barisal Youth Society, Barisal; Durbar Foundation, Comilla; Kaktarua, Sylhet; I Positive, Thakurgaon; Jumphul Theatre, Rangamati; Theatre Murari Chad, Sylhet; Choupash Natyanchal, Bogra; Rangatungi United Women Football Academy, Rangpur; Wheel Chair Cricket Welfare Association Bangladesh (WCWAB), Gazipur.

Share this