Rainer Weiss, Barry C Barish and Kip S Thorne win the 2017 Nobel prize in physics

Rainer Weiss, Barry C Barish and Kip S Thorne have won the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves”, the prize committee said in a statement on Tuesday.


Although three winners were announced, the award is being split in half — one half to Weiss and the other to Barish and Thorne. The prize comes with a cash award of 9 million Swedish krona — around $1.1 million.


Last year’s Nobel in physics went to three theoretical researchers for, as NPR’s Camila Domonoske reported, “their insights into the odd behavior of matter in unusual phases, like superconductors, superfluid films and some kinds of magnets.”


This is the second announcement in a string of Nobel Prize awards that run through Monday.

Yesterday, three Americans won the prize in medicine for their work on the circadian rhythm.

Share this