Bangladesh win toss, put South Africa in to bat

Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and opted to bowl in the first Test of a two-match series against hosts South Africa at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on Thursday.


The match will begin at 2:00 pm (BST).


Bangladesh and South Africa met 10 times in previous occasions in the longest format of the game where the Proteas claimed victories in eight matches and the rest two were resulted in draws.


The last time Tigers toured South Africa in November, 2008.


However, this will be a landmark event for Tigers as they will be playing a month-long tournament on Proteas’ home soil.


The match will be historic in another sense because the new cricket rules announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on September 26 will be introduced first time into an international match.


The new rules include DRS (Umpire Decision Review System) and sending off a player by on-field umpires for misconduct on the ground, will be applied for the first time here.


Bangladesh will be playing without their ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who is on leave due to mental fatigue.


Mushfiqur Rahim-led Team Bangladesh might face a tough time in absence of Shakib, who was the key player in Tigers’ historic Test win against Australia last month.

Share this