Barisal Bulls eliminated from BPL 5

The curtain of the fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is expected to start early November this year with eight teams. But the scenario is change now after Barisal based franchise Barisal Bulls have been eliminated from this year’s domestic gala event due to financial complexity. As a consequence of their elimination, a total of seven teams will take part in the upcoming tournament.

Before beginning of the tournament, the franchises except Barisal Bulls were seen busy to pick their desire players. They (Barisal) didn’t involve in that competition. It is now understood that why they kept themselves away from the run. It has been learned that they have no capabilities to conduct the team due to financial crisis so that the BPL GC took the decision against them.

BPL is likely to be begun from November 2. The BPL GC planned to arrange the tournament with eight franchises. But it is not possible at the moment after the elimination of the Barisal Bulls.

“Barisal Bulls authorities couldn’t pay the money to the BPL GC to participate in the tournament as we don’t give a scope to them to take part in the tournament. But they paid full amount of money last year,” BPL Governing Council Chairman Afzalur Rahman Sinha told Jago News at Dhaka Club following a BPL GC council meeting on Wednesday.

When asked regarding their (Barisal) chance to participate in the next edition of BPL, he said: “If they can pay all the money, then there will be a possibility for them to play in the next edition. As of now, they have no possibility to take part in this year BPL.”

The Barisal based franchise featured in this tournament from the beginning. During that time, their team name was Barisal Burners for the two editions. In 2015, they changed their name Barisal Burners to Barisal Bulls.

Share this